Local News

November 2019 Election Field Set

VoteThe filing deadline for the upcoming fall 2019 city, school, hospital and extension district election was June 3.

Several local city council, mayor, school board, hospital board and extension district board positions are up for election in Russell County.

For Russell Mayor, incumbent Curt Mader filed for re-election. For Russell City Council Ward 1, Monty Morrill filed. Incumbent Frank Peirano did not file for re-election. For Russell City Council Ward 2, Matthew Driscoll will face Chuck Bean in the only contested race for a Council seat. Incumbent Barry Alan Hoffman did not file for re-election. In Ward 3, incumbent Blaine Stoppel filed for re-election. And in Ward 4, Dustin Madden filed. GJ Long did not file for re-election.

For the USD 407 Board of Education, six people filed for four open positions. The only incumbent who filed was Andrea Krug-Krauss. Also filing were Brett Mai, Deanna Myers, Jason Schoenberger, Kathy Wallert and Ronald Wedel. Duane Adams and Char Sohm did not file for re-election. The other vacant seat was formerly held by Jon Quinday who previously resigned.

The only other contested race in Russell County will be in Lucas for the Lucas City Council. Lacie Austin, Jean Stramel and Caleb Bryant will run for two Council positions.

To view the full filing list, CLICK HERE.

The General Election will be November 5, 2019. There will be no Primary.

Read More Local News
Morning Show Banner
Russell, KS weather