Local News

Senator Bowers Announces Staff Members

Sen Elaine Bowers and her Staff for 2020 Session36th District State Senator Elaine Bowers has announced the staff members who will assist her during the 2020 Legislative Session.

They are Legislative Office and Committee Assistant Randi Walters of Topeka and intern Jeffrey Metzler of Minneapolis.

This will be Walters' fourth year serving as Senator Bowers' office assistant. Prior to that, Walters was employed for 30 years at Southwestern Bell before working at the capitol where she has assisted several legislators for over 15 years.

Metzler is currently a fourth-year undergraduate student at Southwest Baptist University in Bolivar, Missouri. He was raised on a farm outside of Minneapolis, Kansas, and graduated from Minneapolis High School in 2016. Jeffrey served as a page for Senator Bowers in 2012 while she was a State Representative and again in 2013 during her first year in the Senate.

For the 2020 Legislative Session, Senator Bowers will serve as Chair of the Ethics, Elections and Local Government Committee as well as a member of the Legislative Post Audit Committee, Capitol Preservation Committee, Transportation Committee, Utilities Committee, Judiciary Committee and Interstate Cooperation Committee.

Senator Bowers was first elected to the Senate in 2012 representing Senate District 36. The district includes Cloud, Jewell, Lincoln, Mitchell, Osborne, Ottawa, Republic, Rooks, Russell, Smith and Washington Counties as well as parts of Phillips and Marshall Counties. Prior to serving in the Senate, Senator Bowers served in the Kansas House of Representatives from 2007 through 2012 representing House District 107. Today, she represents over 71,000 people in north-central, western and eastern Kansas along the border of Nebraska. The 36th District is the second largest in the state.

(Information and photo courtesy Senator Elaine Bowers' office.)

Read More Local News
K-State on KRSL AM-FM
Russell, KS weather