Local News

Spring Election Ballots Set

Election 2014Some new faces will be on the April 1 election ballot for city councils around Russell County.

In Russell, only two city council incumbents filed for four openings and unless write-in campaigns are mounted, only two of the positions will be contested.

In Ward One, incumbent Michelle Wagner will be challenged by Teresa Shaffer. In Ward Two, incumbent Paul Phillips will run unopposed.

Ward Three and Four are guaranteed new councilmembers as neither Larry Daugherty or Tony Witt will seek re-election.

Former Councilman Jim Cross and Peter Cochran will face off against each other for the Ward Three opening. Richard Cross will run unopposed in Ward Four.

In Lucas, incumbents Tarry Dougherty and Trent Leach will run unopposed for Positions Three and Five respectively.

Adam Baker and Tamara Seirer will challenge each other for Position Four.

Two sales tax related questions will also appear on the spring ballot; one being a countywide question and the other only affecting Luray residents.

Read More Local News
Morning Show Banner
Russell, KS weather