Local News

Senator Elaine Bowers Announces Staff

Senator Bowers 2014 StaffKansas State Senator Elaine Bowers (R-Concordia) has announced the staff that will be helping her represent the 36th District.

Hays High graduate Katie Krug will serve as her intern and Pat Williams will work as her executive assistant.

"I think it is important for my district to know who is answering the phone when they call or who they will meet when they come to the Capitol. It helps to put a face and name together," said Senator Bowers. "I am excited to have both Pat and Katie with me this year. They are enthusiastic and I know they will do good work."

Krug, from Salina, is a 2012 graduate of Hays High School. She currently attends Washburn University as a junior studying International Business and Economics with minors in Comparative Political Science and Leadership Studies. While at Washburn, she acts as Vice-Chairwoman of the Washburn University College Republicans, Treasurer of the Pre-Law Association, and is on the Student Leadership Council of the Washburn Leadership Institute. She also works for the Washburn University Foundation.

Interning at the Capitol is nothing new for Krug, who was an intern for Representative Troy Waymaster in the 2013 session, but this is her first time on the Senate side. "As an intern, I really love getting to see behind the curtain and controversies surrounding the governmental process," said Krug. "This program dispels any myths about the Legislature and I get to see the lawmakers as real people just trying to do what they think is best for our state."

Williams has been an assistant for seven years and knows the Statehouse and the State of Kansas very well. She previously worked for the Kansas Department of Revenue for 18 years before retiring, but returned soon after to work for the Kansas Legislature. This is Williams' fourth year with Senator Bowers. "I enjoy the interaction and I work for a wonderful person," said Williams. "I know everyone says that but Senator Bowers really is a genuinely friendly and warm woman."

Senator Bowers was first elected in 2006 to the House of Representatives and was elected to the Senate in 2012. She serves on the committees for Financial Institutions and Insurance, Public Health and Welfare, and Senate Agriculture. She represents Cloud, Jewell, Lincoln, Mitchell, Osborne, Ottawa, Republic, Rooks, Russell, Smith and Washington Counties, the eastern half of Phillips County and the western half of Marshall County.

Pictured above left to right: Senator Elaine Bowers, Katie Krug and Pat Williams.

Read More Local News
Russell, KS weather