Local News

CRP Emergency Haying, Grazing Approved for 44 Kansas Counties

FSAThe Kansas Farm Service Agency (FSA) State Committee used their authority with the D2 Severe drought designation on the US Drought Monitor Map to authorize 44 Kansas counties for emergency haying and grazing effective July 16.

The counties approved for Conservation Reserve Program (CRP) emergency haying and grazing are:

Barber, Barton, Cheyenne, Clark, Comanche, Cowley, Edwards, Ellsworth, Finney, Ford, Gove, Gray, Greeley, Hamilton, Harper, Haskell, Hodgeman, Kearny, Kingman, Kiowa, Lane, Logan, McPherson, Meade, Morton, Ness, Pawnee, Pratt, Rawlins, Reno, Rice, Rush, Russell, Scott, Sedgwick, Seward, Sherman, Stafford, Stanton, Stevens, Sumner, Thomas, Wallace and Wichita.

Emergency haying in approved counties is allowed through August 15, 2014. Participants must leave at least 50 percent of each field or contiguous CRP field un-hayed for wildlife.

Emergency grazing in approved counties is allowed through September 30, 2014. The grazing timeframe begins when the individual request is approved.

CRP participants in approved counties shall contact the local FSA county office to request emergency haying or grazing on an individual contract basis prior to haying or grazing. Participants will work with the Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) to develop a forage management plan. If the CRP cover is destroyed, the practice must be re-established at their own expense to remain in compliance with the CRP contract. CRP haying and grazing policies are available online at www.fsa.usda.gov/ks.

Read More Local News
Morning Show Banner
Russell, KS weather