Local News

Russell County Commissioners Approve Burn Ban Effective Dec. 7

Burn BanThe Russell County Commissioners voted Monday to place Russell County in a burn ban effective Thursday, December 7.

Commissioners cited extremely dry and windy weather conditions as the main reason for the ban.

Any open fire is prohibited.

Exemptions are stoves, fireplaces, campfires and propane or charcoal barbeque grills that are contained in an upright, fully covered grill in developed recreational sites or residential areas.

Prescribed burning of fence rows, fields, wild lands, ravines, trash and debris is prohibited.

Also Monday, the Commissioners discussed property tax statements that were recently mailed out.

Commissioner Don Boxberger...

The Commissioners also discussed bridge repairs and records digitization.

Meeting Minutes

Read More Local News
KU on KRSL 95.9
Russell, KS weather