Sunday Basketball Lineup

KRSL 95.9 FM
Sylvan-Lucas 1A Regional - Boys Championship
Sylvan-Lucas vs. Central Plains - 5:30pm

Local News

2018 Volunteer/Emergency Worker of the Year Nominations Sought

2017 Volunteers of the YearRussell/Ellsworth County Emergency Management and the 911 Communications Advisory Board are once again requesting nominations for the Volunteer/Emergency Worker of the Year.

This is your opportunity to recognize and honor an emergency worker/volunteer for their dedication and service to our communities and county.

There are many volunteers and emergency workers in Russell County who deserve this award and they would like to know your opinion, so they may award a deserving candidate or candidates. Even if you have nominated someone in the past, that person can be nominated again for consideration.

The formal rules are that the person should serve or support the Russell County Emergency Services. The person can be a member of a police force, fire, sheriff, EMS, hospital, health, dispatch or public works departments. Consideration is also given to volunteers who support any of these agencies or who volunteers for groups/agencies that support the emergency services, such as Rotary Rescue, Salvation Army, United Way, American Red Cross or other volunteer organizations active in disasters.

The nominations will be considered and evaluated by the 911 Communications Advisory Board. The Board will render a decision on the best entry. The winner or winners will be presented a Public Service Award Certificate during the National Weather Service Storm Fury on the Plains Weather Spotter Training on Tuesday, March 27 at 6:30 PM at the Dream Theater in Russell.

Last year, Russell County recognized Glen Blundon, Chris Pasek, Jack Brown and Durk Wecker as the 2017 Volunteers of the Year.

The first recipients of this award were Wayne Grabbe and Gordon Gorton in 1998, Cindy Janssen in 1999, Alan Kuntzsch in 2000, Mike Finkenbinder in 2001, Tim Borders in 2002, Craig Langdon and Karl Houck in 2003, Steve Knopp in 2004, Gail Ogle in 2005, Tom Hirst and Lowell Vonada in 2006, Rod Steckel in 2007, Ron Major, Donna Fay Major and Tom Batt in 2008, David Evans in 2009, Larry Vaughan in 2010, Doug Janssen and Darlene Rose in 2011, Keith Koelling in 2012, Sam Schmidt in 2013, Don Boxberger in 2014, Shane Preston in 2015 and Dave Anderson in 2016.

There are many qualified and deserving emergency workers and volunteers in Russell County. Please write a nomination letter of endorsement and deliver it by 9 AM on March 1 to Deanise Howard at the 911 Communications Dispatch Center at 133 West 8th Street in Russell, Kansas 67665 or to Keith Haberer at Russell/Ellsworth County Emergency Management at 850 Elm St, P.O. Box 158, in Bunker Hill, Kansas 67626.

(Information courtesy Russell/Ellsworth County Emergency Management.)

Read More Local News
Broncos on KRSL
Russell, KS weather