Ruppenthal Middle School track parents need to pick their children up at RMS tonight at 5:30 after practice.

Local News

Senator Bowers Recognizes 2018 Staff

Bowers 2018 StaffState Senator Elaine Bowers (R-Cloud County) would like to recognize the hard work put in by her staff who has assisted her during the 2018 legislative session.

Her staff consists of Office and Committee Assistant Randi Walters of Topeka and Legislative Intern Wesley Williams of Tonganoxie.

This is Walters' second year serving as Senator Bowers' office assistant, joining the staff at the start of the 2017 legislative session. Prior to working for Senator Bowers, Walters worked in the State House for over 14 years assisting various elected officials. Prior to working in the Legislature, Walters was employed for 30 years by Southwestern Bell.

Williams is currently a second-year law student at the University of Kansas. He was raised in Tonganoxie and graduated from Tonganoxie High School in 2012, where he was an active member of the student body. Williams graduated from Newman University in Wichita with a Bachelor of Arts in Theatre and participated in various organizations such as student government and choir.

During the 2018 legislative session, Senator Bowers has served as chair of the Ethics, Elections and Local Government Committee, as well as a member of the Legislative Post Audit Committee, Capitol Preservation Committee, Interstate Cooperation Committee, Judiciary Committee and Utilities Committee. Senator Bowers also has successfully sponsored legislation authorizing the construction of a statue of President Dwight D. Eisenhower, which is to be placed on capitol grounds.

Senator Bowers was first elected to the Senate in 2012, representing District 36. The district includes Cloud, Jewell, Lincoln, Mitchell, Osborne, Ottawa, Republic, Rooks, Russell, Smith and Washington Counties, as well as parts of Phillips and Marshall Counties. Prior to serving in the Senate, Senator Bowers served in the Kansas House of Representatives from 2007 through 2012, representing House District 107.

(Information and photo courtesy Senator Elaine Bowers' office.)

Read More Local News
Russell, KS weather