Friday Basketball Lineup

KRSL 990 AM / 98.1 FM
Hoisington Winter Jam - Semifinals
Russell Girls vs. Otis-Bison - 1pm
Russell Boys vs. Victoria - 2:45pm

*Note - Gametimes moved up due to expected wintry weather.

Local News

RCACF Awards $200,000 in Local Scholarships

Russell County Area Community Foundation LogoThe Russell County Area Community Foundation (RCACF) has announced $209,075 in scholarships awarded through the Foundation to area students.

Every year the need for scholarships is greater than the available resources. As tuition continues to rise, support of scholarships becomes even more important. RCACF manages 12 scholarship funds.

These scholarships were established by donors who believe in the youth of our area and want to support their pursuit of higher education.

The Sean Paul Banks Memorial Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School who are involved in sports their senior year and maintain high academic standards. The recipients of $450 scholarships are Samantha Leiker and Jaclyn Schulte.

The Adolph Boehler Student Aid Fund is for students graduating from Russell High School. Recipients of $500 scholarships are Isaac Guzman, Autumn Karst, Gabrielle Mask and Jessica Schoech.

The Doran and Bina Dole Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School. Garrett Ewers received a renewable $2,500 scholarship. Zachary Hendrich received a $2,500 scholarship.

The Kenneth V. Dumler Memorial Aid Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School. Ally Suchy received a $600 scholarship.

The Elaine Hilger Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School with an interest in music or a career in the medical field. Ryan Birky received a $500 scholarship.

The Joshua Scholarship is for students up to age 30 who are graduates from a high school in Russell County. This scholarship is a permanent endowment of several million dollars created by Dr. Starr F. Schlobohm, who desired to share his success in the oil and gas business with the Russell County area. Annual gifts from his education trust will help the scholarship fund grow to significant levels, including Dr. Schlobohm's most recent gift of $650,000. A percentage of the fund is allocated annually to scholarships. Samantha Leiker and Kaitlyn Walker received $10,000 scholarships. Thirty students received $5,000 scholarships, including Brandon Bachar, Katherine Barney, Ryan Birky, Taelyr Blehm, Seth Boxberger, Matt Buhrle, Alexia Charbonneau, Maci Clark, Abigail Cross, Koby Decker, Bailey Dollison, Kyle Farmer, Olivia Keeler, Cameron Kilian, Jacob Kraus, Katherine Krauss, Chase Larson, Kristin Lorenc, Nathan Lorenc, Clayton Moubry, Jordan Moubry, Shannon Ney, Micah Nuss, Whitney Nuss, Dylan Peeler, Delainey Pospichal, Chantal Prester, McKaleigh Short, Cooper Swanson and Samantha Wedel. Ten students received $2,500 scholarships, including Alyssa Evans, Brooks Nichols, Gage Nichols, Travis Ochs, Taylor Ochs, Alexandra Ptacek, Samantha Ptacek, Kelli Rourke, Kyle Rourke and Eric Rourke.

The Murphy Memorial Scholarship is for high school seniors living in areas served by the following school districts: USD 299, 392, 399, 407 and 432. RJ Haberer received a $500 scholarship.

The David Ochs Memorial Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School. Jaime Hanson and Nick Miller received $600 scholarships.

The Pohlman Family Scholarship is for students graduating from USD 407 or USD 399. Recipients of $500 scholarships are Katherine Barney and Peyton Ostmeyer.

The Paul E. Ruggels Memorial Scholarship is for college students who have graduated from Russell High School or Natoma High School, with preference to students pursuing a degree in a health care related field. Receiving $875 scholarships are Kyleigh Kasper and Tyson Schmidtberger.

The Ervin and Denzell Zimmerman Memorial Scholarship is for students graduating from Russell High School who intend to earn a degree in education or agriculture. Katherine Krauss received a $625 scholarship.

For more information, please call Angie Muller, Executive Director, at 785-445-3611 or visit

(Information courtesy RCACF.)

Read More Local News
Russell, KS weather