Local News

2018 Election Field Set

VoteThe filing deadline for the 2018 August Primary and November General Elections was Friday, June 1, and the Russell County candidate field is now set for the upcoming elections.

According to Russell County Clerk and Election Officer Mary Nuss, Republicans Alan Kuntzsch, Scott Steinle and Steve Reinhardt filed for Russell County Commissioner District 1. The seat is currently held by Kuntzsch. Since all three candidates are Republicans, the race will be decided in the August Primary Election.

Russell City Council Wards 1, 2, 3 and 4 positions currently held by Michelle Wagner, Bill Dollison, Jim Cross and Richard Cross are up for election in the November General Election. Wagner and Jim Cross will run unopposed for the Wards 1 and 3 seats. Dollison will face former Councilman Chuck Bean for the Ward 2 spot. And in Ward 4, it will be a three person battle as Gloria Homeier, Dustin Madden and Mitchel Driscoll are running. Richard Cross did not file for re-election.

The City of Lucas has an at-large system of election. There are three Lucas City Council positions open and three people filed - incumbent Tarry Dougherty, incumbent Adam Baker and Janice Parks.

The only other contested race will be for Grant Township Clerk. Republicans Gerald Brandenburg and Don Krug filed.

Full Filings List

Read More Local News
Russell, KS weather