Local News

SHPTV Named Non-Metro Station of the Year for Third Straight Year

Smoky Hills Public TelevisionSmoky Hills Public Television of Bunker Hill has been named the 2018 Non-Metro Television Station of the Year by the Kansas Association of Broadcasters after accumulating six awards in individual categories.

Along with broadcasting PBS programming, SHPTV produces a variety of local programs. Several of those programs were recognized with this year's KAB awards, including Doctors on Call, Traveling Kansas and Real Ag.

The awards will be presented at the KAB Convention on October 15 in Wichita.

A list of SHPTV's awards is below:

  • 1st Place - Single Topic Event News – Doctors on Call: Influenza – SHPTV Staff
  • 1st Place - In-Depth News Reporting – Real Ag: Lavender - Les Kinderknecht and Matthew Campbell
  • 1st Place - Special Program – Traveling Kansas: Hays – Les Kinderknecht
  • 1st Place - Station Promotion Campaign – SHPTV PBS Nerd – Matthew Campbell
  • 1st Place - Station Website – SHPTV.org - Callie Kolacny
  • Honorable Mention - Station Promotion Announcement – SHPTV Testimonial: Miranda – Matthew Campbell

Smoky Hills Public Television serves 71 counties in central and western Kansas. It is available on many cable systems and DirecTV and Dish Network, which includes coverage in the Hutchinson and Wichita areas. More information on SHPTV and its programs and projects is available at www.smokyhillstv.org or by calling 800-337-4788.

(Information courtesy SHPTV.)

Read More Local News
Russell, KS weather