Local Sports

Russell Sending 17 to Kids State

2019 Russell Wrestling Club State Participants17 members of the Russell Wrestling Club have qualified for the Kids State Folkstyle Tournament in Topeka on Saturday and Sunday, March 16-17.

Andrew Boettcher (12/120), Maximus Campa-Self (14/265), Xzephren Donner (12/64), Braigan Dinkel (8/64), Brayden Ford (HS/195), Peyton Gibson (8/125), Kooper Hamlin (8/67), Robert Klee II (8/110), K.J. Napue (10/73), Teagen Pfeifer (12/140), Brayden Suchy (12/120), Jesse Whitmer (14/155) and Jacob Windholz (14/125) all qualified after finishing in the top four in their weight and age division at the district tournament in Pratt on Sunday, March 9.

A new addition to the state tournament this year is a girl walk-on division. Russell is sending four - Karsyn Hamlin (8U), Elizabeth Pendergrass (8U), Lily Pendergrass (12U) and Arianna Weigel (8U).

The Kids State Wrestling Tournament will be held at the Topeka Expocentre.

For up-to-date results from the tournament, CLICK HERE.

Read More Sports
Local News Banner
Russell, KS weather