Catch Russell Sr. American Legion Baseball from "AA" State Tournament in Marysville on Wednesday, July 26 around 3:30pm on KRSL AM 990, 98.1 FM and streaming on!

Local Sports

Elks Hoop Shoot Winners Announced

Elks LogoThe 41st annual Russell Elks Hoop Shoot was held Saturday, Dec. 1 at Amos Morris Gym in Russell.

12 boys and two girls competed in the competition.

Here are the results...

Ages 8-9
1st - Jackson Cross (Russell)
2nd - Aiden Rohr (Russell)
3rd - Tristan Olive (Hays)

Ages 10-11
1st - Brendon Buhrle (Russell)

Ages 12-13
1st - Tyler Whipple (Gorham)
2nd - Brooks Nichols (Russell)
3rd - Tie - Chandler Schoenberger (Russell) and Austin Price (Russell)

Ages 8-9
1st - Emerson Nichols (Russell)

Ages 12-13
1st - Terran Homburg (Natoma)

First place winners from each age division advance to the district competition on Jan. 19 in Russell.  First place winners at the district level qualify for the state competition in February.

Read More Sports
KU on Jack FM
Russell, KS weather