Overview Financial Shred Day Marquee April 2024

Senators Moran, Marshall Introduce Bipartisan Year-Round E15 Legislation

US Senator Jerry Moran (R-Kan.)
US Senator Jerry Moran (R-Kan.)

US Senators Jerry Moran and Roger Marshall of Kansas this week joined their colleagues in introducing the Consumer and Fuel Retailer Choice Act.

This legislation would allow the year-round, nationwide sale of ethanol blends higher than 10 percent — ending years of regulatory uncertainty and preventing a patchwork of uneven state regulations.

"Diversifying the energy market, particularly our fuel supply, is beneficial for our country," said Senator Moran. "Allowing E15 and other higher ethanol blends to be sold year-round will provide farmers and ethanol producers with new market opportunities to sell biofuels made from corn and sorghum, while providing consumers with more options at the pump."

"Consumers and retailers deserve the choice of having E15 at the pump year round," said Senator Marshall. "This legislation will help maximize American agriculture's role as an energy solution, as well as reduce emissions in the transportation sector. I will keep fighting to ensure full market access to E15, which increases our nation's supply of reliable energy and provides additional economic benefits to the domestic fuel supply."

This legislation is also cosponsored by US Senators Deb Fischer of Nebraska, Amy Klobuchar of Minnesota, John Thune of South Dakota, Pete Ricketts of Nebraska, Tammy Baldwin of Wisconsin, Chuck Grassley of Iowa, Tina Smith of Minnesota, Kevin Cramer of North Dakota, Debbie Stabenow of Michigan, Mike Rounds of South Dakota, Tammy Duckworth of Illinois, Dick Durbin of Illinois, Joni Ernst of Iowa and John Hoeven of North Dakota.

Companion legislation has been introduced in the US House of Representatives by Representatives Adrian Smith of Nebraska and Angie Craig of Minnesota.

Full text of the legislation can be found HERE.

(Information courtesy Senator Moran's Office.)